RAFFA wraps up 2012

This year’s RAFFA award winners

Saturday night’s red carpet gala RAFFA awards evening was a fitting celebration to conclude Raglan’s 10-day Film Festival.

Guests and celebrities enjoyed a festive evening held at the Old School Arts Centre. The spotlight was on Whaingaroa’s own filmmakers in a night to get together and celebrate local talent. A delicious buffet dinner provided by the Raglan soccer mums preceded a screening of the short films and highlights of the nominated features which thoroughly engaged all those present.

The awards ceremony itself was a real showcase of the talent in our own creative community. The recipients will cherish their striking RAFFA awards. Designed and created by local steel artists Phil and Emily Meek, an old-school movie reel is captured in the unique design of this year’s award.

The 2012 RAFFA Awards went to
Best Editor: Turanga Kereopa for the music video Skinny by Ariana
Best Soundtrack: Aroha Yates-Smith for Sky Whisperers Ranginui
Best Music Video: Silent Tears by Little Lapin and Indie Productions
Best Documentary: Tuihana Bosch on behalf of Te Mauri Tau for Te Kumara
Best Environmental Film: KASM by Kiwis Against Seabed Mining
Best Producer: Brian Ruawai for Journey: Cornerstone Roots
Best Director: Micah Puklowski for Monochromacy
Best Actress: Athene Jensen in Whiff Drawers
Best Actor: Reiki Ruawai for The Dump
Best Cinematography: Juan Duazo for Art to Wear 2012

Maryann Tuao receives the Creative Force Award, recognising her work in the Raglan creative community.

This year’s special awards included:

Newcomer Award: Billy Lee-Pope for filming Raglan’s 1st Grom Skateboard Competition
Creative Force Award: Maryann Tuao of Groundswell Media for both a productive 2012 year and for providing support, encouragement and mentoring to many local talents.
International Film Award: The Most Fun You Can Have Dying, directed by Kirsten Marcon, filmed partly in Raglan. The award acknowledges the accomplishment of producing a highly regarded feature length film on a controversial subject, filmed internationally, on a very tight budget.
Special Grand Prize Award for Best Picture: Whiff Drawers by Groundswell Media in
acknowledgement of the tremendous effort to produce something of this quality in the 48 hours competition.

See the full list of nominees and winners.

The fourth annual Red Carpet ceremony was organised by the Raglan Community Arts Council. Many local people volunteered their expertise to make this event a great success. Ruth Port’s leadership skills as MC for the Awards Ceremony guided all guests through an evening to remember. Rodger Gallagher, Jacqueline Anderson and Aaron Mooar devoted much time to planning and organising the whole ten-day programme.
Aaron also contributed his skills as a projectionist and was the voice of the festival on Raglan Radio. Susan Guenther was the photographer as the guests walked the red carpet. Thanks goes to the Raglan Soccer Mums for the excellent catering and to Vicky Crosby for serving refreshments.

Valued sponsors of the Film Festival include Creative Communities Waikato District, V48Hours Furious Filmmaking Competition, Flux Animation Studios, the Raglan Club and the Raglan Operational Support Unit.

And of course, a huge thank-you goes to Whaingaroa’s stars and film-makers and the audiences who helped make this year’s Raglan Film Festival a success. See you in 2013!